Chiefs duo named in Wales squad

terry train.jpg
Exeter Chiefs back Niamh Terry is one of two of Susie Appleby's squad named in the Wales squad for their Six Nations clash with Ireland. Picture: JMP Sport

By Harry Scott-Munro

Exeter Chiefs backs Niamh Terry and Meg Davies have both been named in the Wales squad for their second Six Nations Championship match of the tournament against Ireland on Saturday (5pm).

Last weekend, a new-look Welsh side were given a harsh lesson in finishing as a clinical French side ran up a 53-0 victory. 

Despite the result, Wales still showed significant heart, as they put on a much-improved display in the second half.  The match also saw scrum-half Davies impress, after making her debut off the bench, and she keeps her place this weekend, joined by fellow back Terry, who herself has underlined her on-field talents  since breaking into the  Chiefs starting side earlier this season and scoring on her first start against Worcester Warriors.

Wales have made four changes from last Saturday's match with Cara Hope and Cerys Hale coming into the front-row; Natalia John starts in the second-row, while speedster Jasmine Joyce is replaced on the wing by Courtney Keight after linking up with the GB 7s team.

Reflecting on their opening match, Head Coach Warren Abrahams has challenged his side to use the pain from that loss and channel it into Saturday's match in Cardiff.

“We are all proud and privileged to represent the Wales jersey," he said. "Last weekend’s loss hurts us all, but that pain is important if we want to improve and be competitive against the best sides in the world. It was a great benchmark and it is up to every member of the Wales Women programme now to take responsibility."

Abrahams also touched on the inclusion of Terry on the bench, explaining how the match was a perfect opportunity for his younger players to show what they can do.

"It’s a chance for some players to start the game and we have youngsters Niamh and Caitlin on the bench too. We are enthused by the performance of the new caps last weekend.”


15 Robyn Wilkins (Gloucester-Hartpury)
14 Lisa Neumann (Sale Sharks)
13 Hannah Jones (vice-capt, Gloucester-Hartpury)
12 Kerin Lake (Gloucester-Hartpury)
11 Courtney Keight (Bristol Bears)
10 Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Bears)
9 Jess Roberts (Sale Sharks);

1 Cara Hope (Gloucester-Hartpury)
2 Kelsey Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury)
3 Cerys Hale (Gloucester-Hartpury)
4 Natalia John (Bristol Bears)
5 Gwen Crabb (Gloucester-Hartpury)
6 Georgia Evans (Saracens)
7 Manon Johnes (Bristol Bears)
8 Siwan Lillicrap (capt, Bristol Bears)

16 Molly Kelly (Sale Sharks)
17 Caryl Thomas (Worcester Warriors)
18 Donna Rose (Saracens)
19 Teleri Wyn Davies (Sale Sharks)
20 Bethan Dainton (Harlequins)
21 Megan Davies (Exeter Chiefs)
22 Niamh Terry (Exeter Chiefs)
23 Caitlin Lewis (Cardiff Met)

Sign up to the Chiefs Newsletter

To receive a copy of the Exeter Chiefs Newsletter, please enter your email address below. You will then receive an email to confirm that you wish to receive it. You can unsubscribe at any time simply by following the link at the bottom of the email.