Francis in Wales squad for summer Tests

francis sco 3.jpg
Exeter Chiefs prop Tomas Francis has been named in the Wales squad for their three-game summer test series.

By Mark Stevens

Exeter Chiefs prop Tomas Francis has been named in a 34-man Wales squad for their summer Tests.

The 2021 Guinness Six Nations Champions will face three home games against Canada and Argentina this July and head coach Wayne Pivac has selected a squad that features experience. as well as youth as he continues his preparations for the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Ospreys prop Gareth Thomas, Dragons pair Ben Carter and Taine Basham, Cardiff Blues centre Ben Thomas and Scarlets wing Tom Rogers are the five uncapped players named in the squad, which will be captained by centre Jonathan Davies.

Wales have 10 players on the British and Irish Lions tour of South Africa, including captain Alun Wyn Jones, but there are recalls for Josh Turnbull and Rhodri Williams.

“We are really looking forward to this summer, getting to work with this squad and the three home Tests that we will face,” said Wales head coach Wayne Pivac.

“It is great that we are able to select five uncapped players in the squad. It is an opportunity, much like the autumn campaign last year, to get these players into the environment and to expose them to test match preparation and in some cases test match rugby.

“This summer isn’t just about the uncapped players it is also about internationals gaining more experience. It is a chance for them to get more starts and appearances under their belt and to step into leadership roles so it is going to be an important period for us.

“We will have a training camp in North Wales before returning to Cardiff for our three tests so it is a great block of time we have together.Whilst the Six Nations success is still fresh in many people’s memories it is important we continue to build both depth and our game as we continue to the RWC 2023.”

Wales face Canada on July 3 with Tests against Argentina on July 10 and 17.


Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (20 Caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (39 Caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys) (*Uncapped)
Elliot Dee (Dragons) (37 Caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (17 Caps)
Sam Parry (Ospreys) (4 Caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons) (17 Caps)
Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (57 Caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby) (28 Caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys) (25 Caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons) (*Uncapped)
Cory Hill (Cardiff Rugby) (32 Caps)
Will Rowlands (Wasps) (7 Caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons) (*Uncapped)
James Botham (Cardiff Rugby) (6 Caps)
Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (45 Caps)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby) (28 Caps)
Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Rugby) (10 Caps)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (29 Caps)

BACKS (15):

Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (4 Caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby) (22 Caps)
Rhodri Williams (Dragons) (3 Caps)
Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears) (9 Caps)
Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Rugby) (6 Caps)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets, capt) (88 Caps)
Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby) (4 Caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens) (10 Caps)
Ben Thomas (Cardiff Rugby) (*Uncapped)
Hallam Amos (Cardiff Rugby) (23 Caps)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (95 Caps)
Jonah Holmes (Dragons) (5 Caps)
Owen Lane (Cardiff Rugby) (2 Caps)
Ioan Lloyd (Bristol Bears) (2 Caps)
Tom Rogers (Scarlets) (*Uncapped)

Sign up to the Chiefs Newsletter

To receive a copy of the Exeter Chiefs Newsletter, please enter your email address below. You will then receive an email to confirm that you wish to receive it. You can unsubscribe at any time simply by following the link at the bottom of the email.