Moon to make first Test start

moon start gi.jpg
Exeter Chiefs prop Ben Moon will make his first Test start against world champions New Zealand at Twickenham on Saturday. Picture: Getty Images

By Mark Stevens

Exeter Chiefs prop Ben Moon will make his first-ever Test start after he was today named in the England starting line-up for Saturday’s second Quilter International Test match against New Zealand at Twickenham Stadium (3pm).

The loose-head prop - who takes over from club-mate Alec Hepburn in the front-row is one of three changes Eddie Jones has made to starting XV that beat South Africa 12-11 last weekend.

Elsewhere, Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), who scored a try when England last beat New Zealand in 2012, will start on the right wing in place of Exeter Chiefs’ star Jack Nowell, while Sam Underhill comes in at open-side flanker following an ankle injury to Tom Curry (Sale Sharks).

There are three changes to the bench with Hepburn and Nowell joining Courtney Lawes as finishers. Also named on the bench is Exeter's Harry Williams, while Henry Slade keeps his place in the starting line-up at outside centre.

Jones said: “The expectation for Saturday is no different to any other Test match. We want to be at our best, better than we were in the previous Test match and we want to play with pride and passion which ignites the fan.

It’s been a good week, the players have recovered well, trained well on Tuesday, exceptionally well on Wednesday and we look forward to the challenge of taking on New Zealand on Saturday.

“The crowd last week was wonderful, we had great support and enthusiasm for the game and they saw a great Test match and I’m sure on Saturday they will see another.”

England starting XV to play New Zealand

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 22 caps)

14 Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks, 40 caps)

13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 14 caps)

12 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 14 caps)

11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 38 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 62 caps) co-captain

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 78 caps)

1 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 94 caps) co-captain

3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 14 caps)

4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 23 caps)

5 George Kruis (Saracens, 26 caps)

6 Brad Shields (Wasps, 3 caps)

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)

8 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)

16 Jamie George (Saracens, 29 caps)

17 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs, 3 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)

19 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 7 caps)

20 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 65 caps)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 82 caps)

22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)

23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 27 caps)

Sign up to the Chiefs Newsletter

To receive a copy of the Exeter Chiefs Newsletter, please enter your email address below. You will then receive an email to confirm that you wish to receive it. You can unsubscribe at any time simply by following the link at the bottom of the email.